Starbucks announced its products would no longer contain cochineal extract, a red coloring made from crushed insects. As we explained ten years ago in our initial story, carmine or cochineal appears in many products marketed to people who are unaware of its origin.
Now customers won't have the opportunity to sip or chomp on the same old Strawberries and Creme Frappuchino, Strawberry Banana Smoothies, Raspberrry Swirl Cakes, Red Velvet Whoopee Pie, donuts with pink icing, and birthday cake pops. None of these products are currently kosher or vegan.
Starbucks plans to replace the cochineal with a tomato extract called lycopene. The change will occur by the end of June.