VegSource.com

SEARCH VEGSOURCE:

 

 

Follow Ups | Post Followup | Back to Discussion Board | VegSource
See spam or
inappropriate posts?
Please let us know.
  




From: Jo Stepaniak (jo.vegsource.com)
Subject: Re: Vitamin D3 New-got response-possibly vegan
Date: November 24, 2009 at 1:09 pm PST

In Reply to: Vitamin D3 New-got response-possibly vegan posted by Andi on November 24, 2009 at 12:07 pm:

Despite what they have told you, the originating source of vitamin D3 is either fish oil or lanolin (fat from sheep's wool) and it is not considered vegan, regardless of the processing it goes through. This is the same as dairy-based yogurt starters (probiotics) that are used to make some brands of soy yogurt -- the finished product is still not vegan (even if the nonvegan part is minuscule, microscopic, or otherwise undetectable).

Although there truly are no vegan police (despite rumors to the contrary), if there were, this would not pass inspection. On the other hand, if you prefer to take this brand or other brands with vitamin D3, that's your choice (you will not, I repeat--will not--be arrested).

~Jo



Follow Ups:



Post a Followup

Name:
E-mail: (optional)
Subject:

If your message contains graphic descriptions of violence toward animals or other disturbing information,
please check the Sensitive Material button: Sensitive Material None

Comments:

Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL: