Follow Ups | Post Followup | Back to Discussion Board | VegSource
See spam or
inappropriate posts?
Please let us know.

From: Andi ( -
Subject: Vitamin D3 New-got response-possibly vegan
Date: November 24, 2009 at 12:07 pm PST

Question for Jo:

If I'm able to I will copy the response I received from garden of life regarding their D3 & their process. i just spoke with their rep who said they will be removing the "vegan" word from their future products but that the D3 in their products is vegan (at least the end result).

Please let me know what u think regarding their response to me. They said many people have questioned this. Thanks very much. Andi (see below):


Thank you for your email and interest in Garden of Life's products. We
recognize that the choice to become a Vegan is intensely personal and
requires tremendous individual commitment. We, at Garden of Life, honor
that choice and are committed to your pursuit of Extraordinary Health.
Vitamin D, particularly D3, is a vital fat soluble nutrient which is
vital to your health. Emerging science is studying the links between D3
and bone, breast and prostate health and many other conditions that
affect our well-being. We, at Garden of Life, passionately believe that
as a Vegan, supplementation is an important consideration for you as
your diet may be lacking in Vitamin D, especially during the Fall and
Winter months. That is why we have created what we consider to be a
valuable, Vegan friendly Vitamin D3 nutrient.

The following briefly explains our D3 process:

The vitamins and minerals included in VITAMIN CODE formulas are
delivered in a whole food form as RAW Food-Created Nutrients. This
process utilizes a single isolated vitamin or mineral that is fed to the
yeast or probiotic.

A specific peptide designed for each particular nutrient is then
introduced in order to allow the nutrient to be metabolized (or
absorbed) through the yeast's cell wall. This process mimics nature,
just like when a plant takes an inorganic mineral salt that is naturally
occurring in the soil and absorbs it into its roots; the plant becomes
rich in the nutrient that it is fed. Our process is conducted with two
distinct organisms - S. cerevisiae (baker's yeast) and L. bulgaricus
(probiotic culture used in traditional yogurt recipes which is

The vitamin D in the VITAMIN CODE products is a single cell plant
(yeast) rich in vitamin D3. Although our manufacturer's process audit
confirms that our product includes raw vegan vitamin D3, going forward
we have chosen not to label any of the Vitamin Code products that
contain D3 as vegan and we have decided to allow our consumers to make
their own choice by providing a website link that gives the relevant
background about our process. We hope to have this website link
available later in December We consider
products grown in yeast and probiotics to be vegan just as a cabbage
growing in a field is considered vegan even though some of the nutrients
found in the soil are not originating from vegan sources.

For information on Garden of Life's New and Innovative products, please
visit our websites at , and!

May you be blessed with Extraordinary Health,


GOL, Product Support


Follow Ups:

Post a Followup

E-mail: (optional)

If your message contains graphic descriptions of violence toward animals or other disturbing information,
please check the Sensitive Material button: Sensitive Material None


Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL: