VegSource.com

SEARCH VEGSOURCE:

 

 

Follow Ups | Post Followup | Back to Discussion Board | VegSource
See spam or
inappropriate posts?
Please let us know.
  




From: Jo Stepaniak (jo.vegsource.com)
Subject: Re: Indian Food Vegan?
Date: May 19, 2009 at 5:32 am PST

In Reply to: Indian Food Vegan? posted by Kim on May 18, 2009 at 2:43 pm:

In South Indian restaurants, uthappa, sambar, iddly, rasam, vadda, and dosas, coconut chutney, and tamarind chutney should be vegan. Other dishes, including curried beans and vegetables, may contain ghee, cream, milk, or yogurt. Rice dishes may contain ghee. When you specify that you don't want ghee, you must also ask if the dish contains any other dairy (such as cream or yogurt) and find out if it can be made without those ingredients. Samosas may have yogurt in the dough. Pakoras should be safe. Raita is a seasoned yogurt, so avoid that. All the desserts will contain butter and other dairy products, so do not get dessert. Assume that the beverages (particularly lassis), tea (chai), and coffee will contain dairy as well.



Follow Ups:



Post a Followup

Name:
E-mail: (optional)
Subject:

If your message contains graphic descriptions of violence toward animals or other disturbing information,
please check the Sensitive Material button: Sensitive Material None

Comments:

Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL: