SEARCH VEGSOURCE:

 

 

Follow Ups | Post Followup | Back to Discussion Board | VegSource
See spam or
inappropriate posts?
Please let us know.
  




From: Randie (gasaraki.realm2.net)
Subject: Re: celiac disease what's gluetin?
Date: April 27, 2005 at 2:22 pm PST

In Reply to: celiac disease what's gluetin? posted by sunshine mom on April 25, 2005 at 10:55 am:

Gluten is basically the protein in wheat and (some) other grains- most notibly, rye, oats, kamut, spelt, and barley. I don't know why you were advised to avoid rice, because as far as I know, it does not contain gluten. Which is not to say that one cannot be allergic to rice. But, rice allergy is not due to gluten. I know that Pacific brand almond milk, and Blue Diamond's Almond Breeze brand almond milk do not contain dairy. But you'll always have to read lables because sometimes formulations change. The Food Allergy Network has information and even a little card to help you read lables at the market and choose safe foods. If you do a google search for gluten free recipes, you will come up with a lot of websites, and even some mail order sources for gluten free products. You could also google celiac disease to learn more about the condition and the steps you need to take to help your daughter feel better and eat well. Good luck to you both along the road to wellness.

~R~



Follow Ups:



Post a Followup

Name:
E-mail: (optional)
Subject:

Comments:

Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL: