SEARCH VEGSOURCE:

 

 

Follow Ups | Post Followup | Back to Discussion Board | VegSource
See spam or
inappropriate posts?
Please let us know.
  




From: Brenda W. (dial-174.r3.ncbrvr.infoave.net)
Subject: Re: Looking for Dairy-Free chocolate
Date: February 22, 2005 at 6:14 am PST

In Reply to: Looking for Dairy-Free chocolate posted by Lee R. on February 21, 2005 at 9:28 pm:

Hi Lee,

You are right ... most dark chocolate is vegan (and therefore dairy free), but be sure to read the label. Someone at work brought in some Ghirardelli dark chocolate, and I was sure I'd be able to partake, but reading the label I noticed "milk solids" ... sigh.

My favorite is Green and Black's, but I've noticed a wide, wide variety in taste of vegan chocolates, and it seems to be a very individualized taste thing ... what one person loves, another finds unpalatable. I was reading one post and the writer suggested trying any brand EXCEPT Green and Blacks, which s/he found most yucky!!

One ingredient all chocolates will have is "cocoa butter". This is a vegan ingredient ... it is the natural vegetable fat that is extracted from cocoa beans during the process of making cocolate.



Follow Ups:



Post a Followup

Name:
E-mail: (optional)
Subject:

Comments:

Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL: