Custom Search


Reply To This Post         Return to Posts Index           VegSource Home

From: Bryanna (
Subject:         Re: Bird's Custard FYI-- I'm sorry, but that's not correct:
Date: April 25, 2009 at 1:00 pm PST

In Reply to: Bird's Custard FYI posted by rikjog on April 25, 2009 at 10:53 am:

The powder does not contain milk or milk proteins.
The CUSTARD someone makes from it might contain milk
products, if it's stirred into dairy milk to make
the custard, but you can use soymilk or nut milk
(trust me, rice milk does not work!).

I don't know where you're getting your information,
but this is from

"Allergen Information

Does Not Contain:
Nut, Gluten, Wheat, Egg, Fish, Lactose, Sesame,
Peanut, Celery, Mustard, Soya, Shellfish, Milk,
Sulphites, Phenylalanine, Oats

Cornflour, Salt, Colour (Annatto), Flavouring."

And that is exactly what it says on the can of it I
have in my cupboard. You have to add milk-- dairy
or non-dairy-- and sweetener. It's not like a cocoa
powder mix where you just add water.

If you don't believe me, here's an article on it
from a British newspaper:

"...So what happened to Bird's? The answer is
nothing. It's still there on the supermarket shelf,
boasting the "original homemade taste". This is
nothing special – the complete list of ingredients
is "Cornflour, Salt, Colour (annatto), Flavouring".
Sampled for the first time in maybe 40 years, it was
unobjectionable, two-dimensional, unchanged."

Reply To This Post         Return to Posts Index           VegSource Home

Follow Ups:


Post Reply

E-mail: (optional)


Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL:

See spam or
inappropriate posts?
Please let us know.

Want to see more videos? Subscribe to VegSource!

Every time we post a new video, we'll send you a notice by e-mail.

No spam ever and you can easily unsubscribe at anytime.

Enter your email address, your first name, and press Submit.

Your Email:
First Name:
Newsletter archive

Infomercial production direct marketing