SEARCH VEGSOURCE:
Custom Search

 


Reply To This Post         Return to Posts Index           VegSource Home


From: Bryanna (NewVeggies.vegsource.com)
Subject:         Re: Truffle recipe ingredients:vegan liquors
Date: January 27, 2009 at 10:53 pm PST

In Reply to: Truffle recipe ingredients:vegan liquors posted by Karen on January 27, 2009 at 6:30 pm:

Here is a comprehensive list from the vegetarian
Network Victoria (Australia):

http://www.vnv.org.au/site/index.php?
option=com_content&task=view&id=195&Itemid=133

Those suitable for vegans and vegetarians are
marked "VV". You'll be happy to know that Kahlua
is listed "VV"! As are: Galliano, Grand Marnier,
Bacchus Schnapps of various flavors, Captain Morgan
OP Rum, Chartreuse, Cointreau, Frangelico, Lena
Banana Liqueur, Mohala Mango Liqueur, Opal Nera
(Black Sambuca), Rubis Strawberry Liqueur, Tia
Mari, and various brandies, Scotches, bourbobs,
whiskey, rums, etc. Lots of wines, too.

NOTE: Even if you can’t order wines or spirits
online (especially from overseas companies), these
websites give you lists of vegan and veg wines that
you can order from your liquor merchant, or look
for, anyway.

NOTE: Alcohol can be “vegetarian” if it isn’t
“fined” (refined) with blood, isinglass or gelatin,
but it may be fined with casein or albumin, so
would not be vegan. See article just below.

List of California vegan wines:

http://www.freywine.com/freywine/index.html
Frey Vineyards make vegan wines in California

Forrestville Winery
(evidently good, cheap wines that are vegan—from
Sonoma county, Calif.)

Another well-known California company:
I understand that all Fetzer wines are vegetarian,
but only the whites are vegan.
http://www.fetzer.com/

La Rocca Vinyards

Coturri Winery (online ordering; organic)
http://www.coturriwinery.com/

Barefoot Cellars
http://www.barefootwine.com/home/home.html


FROM THE INTERNATIONAL VEGETARIAN UNION:
WHY ISN’T ALCOHOL NECESSARILY VEGAN?

Wine is clarified, or cleared, after fermentation.
Some of the ingredients used include:
- edible gelatins (made from bones)
- isinglass (made from the swim bladders of fish)
- casein and potassium caseinate (milk proteins)
- animal albumin (egg albumin and dried blood
powder)
In the UK beer (bitter) is also commonly fined
using isinglass. Many bottled bitters and most
lagers are vegan. Guinness is not suitable for
vegans. Most spirits are vegan except for Campari
(contains cochineal) and some Vodkas (passed
through bone charcoal).


Reply To This Post         Return to Posts Index           VegSource Home


Follow Ups:


    


Post Reply

Name:
E-mail: (optional)
Subject:

Comments:

Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL:



See spam or
inappropriate posts?
Please let us know.
  


Want to see more videos? Subscribe to VegSource!

Every time we post a new video, we'll send you a notice by e-mail.

No spam ever and you can easily unsubscribe at anytime.

Enter your email address, your first name, and press Submit.


Your Email:
First Name:
Newsletter archive

Infomercial production direct marketing