Vegan Deli

Vegan Deli  by Jo Stepaniak

Click here to learn more

Order this book!

 

 

Raising Vegetarian Children
by Jo Stepaniak, M.S.Ed., & Vesanto Melina M.S., R.D.

Raising Vegetarian Children

Click here to learn more

Order this book!

 
     

Do you have questions about being vegan? Send them to Jo using this easy form. She would be happy to address your individual concerns as well as general inquiries about vegan ethics, philosophy, practical applications, and living compassionately. Jo cannot respond to questions about nutrition or answer questions that have already been addressed in the Archives

Jo will make every attempt to answer each question personally, however, due to her schedule, this may not be possible. If a reply is forthcoming, it could take up to a few weeks, so please be patient. It is also possible that your question will be answered directly in the "Ask Jo!" column rather than an individual response.

If you'd like to view previous questions Jo has answered, visit the Ask Jo! Archives.

Can Kosher Mean Vegan?

question.gif - 1.4 K What do the kosher symbols on the front of food products stand for and which ones mean that the product is vegan?

answer.gif - 1.3 K The "U" or "K" symbol on a product means that it is certified kosher. Kosher means that the item was prepared in accordance with kashrut, Jewish dietary laws, under the supervision and approval of a certifying organization and rabbi. It does not indicate that the food is vegan, as animal products may also be labeled as kosher.

"Kosher parve" denotes that the food is deemed "neutral," which means that it does not contain meat or dairy products. Nevertheless, kashrut does not interpret "meat" in the same way that vegans do. For instance, fish and eggs are considered parve, so prepared foods marked as "kosher parve" may contain either of these as ingredients.

A "D" means that the food is designated "kosher dairy." That is, it is certified kosher but it contains dairy products or derivatives and, in accordance with kashrut, is not permitted to be eaten with meat. "DE" signifies that the food does not contain dairy products directly but was prepared on equipment that also is used to make foods containing dairy. In terms of kashrut, these foods are considered "kosher dairy," even though the equipment is thoroughly cleaned before each run and the product itself is dairy free.

A kosher symbol on food does not imply that it is vegan. Kosher certification merely ensures compliance with ritual animal slaughter and certifies that meat and dairy products have not intermingled during processing. There is no direct correlation between kosher foods and veganism.




Copyright © 1998-2014 by Jo Stepaniak   All rights reserved.
Nothing on this web site may be reproduced in any way
without express written permission from the copyright holder.

 

 
 

Vegan Vittles:
Second Helpings

Vegan Vittles: Second Helpings by Jo Stepaniak

Click here to learn more

Order this book!

 

 

The Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook

Click here to learn more

Review by Dan Balogh

View Readers' Comments

Order this book!

 

 

The Food Allergy
Survival Guide

The Food Allergy Survival Guide

Click here to learn more

Order this book!